THE FRENCH METHOD WITH A NORTH AMERICAN PERSPECTIVE

French method

Par ici is a French learning method entirely developed by Quebec teachers. Each workbook is designed to build the set of skills described in the Curriculum Guidelines (oral production, oral comprehension, written production and reading comprehension).

Par ici encourages learners to apply newly-acquired language skills to real day-to-day situations.

For each level, a supplementary exercise book and an instructional guidebook will be available. Click here for an overview of current titles.


16 learning scenarios based on everyday life
31 communication objectives
4   self-assessments to evaluate progress


26 learning scenarios based on everyday life
68 communication objectives
4   self-assessments to evaluate progress


20 learning scenarios based on everyday life
54 communication objectives
4   self-assessments to evaluate progress

Preview a sample of Workbook A-1 / 1-2

Download PDF

Listen to an audio track (Workbook A-1 / 1-2)

Preview a sample of Workbook A-2 / 3-4

Download PDF

Listen to an audio track (Workbook A-2 / 3-4)

Preview a sample of Workbook B-1 / 5-6

Download PDF

Listen to an audio track (Workbook B-1 / 5-6)

Discover Par ici


In this short video, author Nancy Desjardins details the purpose and structure of the Par ici method.

WHAT PEOPLE SAY

“I’ve used the workbook in both organizations I’ve been teaching at this past year, and in my personal experience, the learners love it: it’s beautifully done, colorful, contemporary, and focuses on what’s really needed. I also like the section about phonetics and the audio tracks. The fact that it’s custom-made for Quebec is something that both teachers and learners can truly appreciate.”

Tania Longpré, Commission scolaire de Montréal (CSDM)

“As for me, I had it analysed by my students and soon-to-be FSL teachers as part of my didactics course. They were thrilled to discover a resource to make integration easier in Quebec. Using a grid we developed as part of the course, they analysed the resource according to various criteria and found very little ground for criticism. On the whole, they were delighted and eager to move on to the next levels!”

Virginie Doubli-Bounouna, Université de Montréal

“Finally, a workbook that’s consistent with the reality of Quebec! I find it quite comprehensive as far as the beginner level is concerned… It’s very lively and easy to use. I look forward to the more advanced levels in further workbooks. Thanks again!”

Pamela Northon, Cégep Édouard-Montpetit

“Our teachers are really taken with this method. Some even use it as part of the FIA330-3 course to revise with weaker groups. We have around sixty copies used as a shared resource.”

Cécile Hernu, Cégep Saint-Laurent

“I have used Par ici with my students this summer and loved the fact that it’s consistent with the reality of Quebec. Students often bemoan the disparity between what they learn in class and what they hear on the street. So I think this method really fills an essential need.”

Laurence Jeudy, Dawson College

“Finally, something made in Quebec for beginner-level students! Not only is this material appealing, but its thematic progression firmly connects with students’ interests by focusing on real-life situations. Things like filling out forms, ordering at a restaurant, renting an apartment, or getting to know typical Quebecois phrases and idiosyncrasies (like moving on the 1st of July), and other North American realities (like clothing swaps). The approach to grammar is utilitarian rather than repetitive, which keeps things dynamic. In this sense, the included CD is perfect for students to fully integrate the material, audio or otherwise, to their own learning experience, while also favouring greater autonomy.”

Isabelle-E. Der Aprahamian, Vanier College

La méthode de français pour la réalité nord-américaine

Méthode de français

La méthode Par ici a été entièrement conçue par des professeurs du Québec. Chaque cahier vise l’acquisition des compétences décrites dans le Programme-cadre (production orale, compréhension orale, production écrite et compréhension écrite).

La méthode Par ici encourage les apprenants à mettre en pratique leurs nouvelles compétences linguistiques dans des situations authentiques de la vie quotidienne.


16 épisodes scénarisés basés sur la vie courante
31 objectifs de communication
4   bilans pour évaluer ses progrès
À paraître


26 épisodes scénarisés basés sur la vie courante
68 objectifs de communication
4   projets pour évaluer ses progrès


20 épisodes scénarisés basés sur la vie courante
54 objectifs de communication
4   projets pour évaluer ses progrès

Découvrez un extrait du cahier A1 / 1-2

Télécharger le PDF

Écoutez une des pistes audio (cahier A1 / 1-2)

Découvrez un extrait du cahier A2 / 3-4

Télécharger le PDF

Écoutez une des pistes audio (cahier A2 / 3-4)

Découvrez un extrait du cahier B1 / 5-6

Télécharger le PDF

Écoutez une des pistes audio (cahier B1 / 5-6)

Découvrez Par ici


Dans cette courte vidéo, l’auteure Nancy Desjardins présente la vocation et la structure de la méthode Par ici.

CE QU’ON EN DIT !

« Personnellement, j’ai utilisé le cahier dans les deux centres où j’ai enseigné cette année et les apprenants aiment beaucoup le livre : il est beau, actuel, coloré et centré sur de vrais besoins. J’aime aussi la section phonétique et les pistes audio. Le fait qu’elle soit adaptée au Québec est vraiment apprécié par les enseignants et les apprenants. »

Tania Longpré, Commission scolaire de Montréal

« Pour ma part, ce sont mes étudiants apprentis profs de FLS qui l’ont analysé dans mon cours de didactique. Ils étaient vraiment contents de trouver une ressource facilitant l’intégration au Québec. Ils ont utilisé une grille construite en cours pour analyser la ressource selon divers critères et ont trouvé très peu à redire. Dans l’ensemble, ils étaient ravis et avaient hâte aux prochains niveaux! »

Virginie Doubli-Bounoua, Université de Montréal

« Enfin un cahier qui correspond à la réalité québécoise!  Je le trouve très complet pour le niveau plus débutant… Il est vivant et facile à utiliser. J’ai très hâte de voir les autres cahiers pour les niveaux plus avancés. Merci encore! »

Pamela Northon, Cégep Édouard-Montpetit

« Les enseignants sont très emballés par la méthode, qu’ils utilisent parfois même au cours FIA330-3 pour faire de la révision avec des groupes moins forts. Nous en avons une soixantaine d’exemplaires en partage. »

Cécile Hernu, Cégep Saint-Laurent

« J’ai utilisé la Méthode Par ici  avec mes étudiants cet été et j’ai beaucoup aimé qu’elle soit adaptée à la réalité québécoise. Les étudiants se plaignent souvent de la différence entre ce qu’ils apprennent en classe et ce qu’ils entendent dans la rue. C’est pourquoi je pense que cette méthode répond à un besoin réel. »

Laurence Jeudy, Collège Dawson

« Voici enfin du matériel québécois pour nos apprenants de niveaux débutants! Non seulement ce matériel est-il attrayant, mais la progression thématique rejoint les points d’intérêts des étudiants en proposant une adaptation de situations authentiques; je pense entre autres, à comment remplir des formulaires, commander d’un menu, négocier la location d’un logement; ou bien se familiariser avec des expressions ou des réalités typiquement québécoises (les déménagements le 1er juillet) ou nord-américaines (le troc des vêtements). Les points grammaticaux sont abordés de façon utilitaire plutôt que répétitive, ce qui dynamise le contenu. En ce sens, le CD inclus permet aux étudiants d’arrimer le contenu écrit et audio dans leur apprentissage, favorisant de ce fait des situations semi-authentiques, et encourage l’autonomie des apprenants. »

Isabelle-E. Der Aprahamian, Collège Vanier